Old Skool G Dot

Amateur Wrestling Rules In Pictures, published 1989. I am the one in the red singlet. This was taken at the US Cadet Nationals in 1988 in Indianapolis when I was 16, I came 5th of 78. I stole the draw sheet, I still have it. The Canadian team included Scott Nichol and Fernando “Hot Tub” Galvez, although I seem to remember they called him “fly man” back then. Also Sly Sinclair and Richard Pryzslak were there.

This was a match with the eventual gold medal winner. I lost 4-2. This was a weird match because I did an arm throw and knocked myself unconscious with about 30 seconds left by slamming my head into the mat. My first recollection after this was about 30 minutes later lying on a gurney. After I watched the video of the fight and after the throw I got up immediately and finished the match but I seriously had no memory of doing it.

2 Responses to “Old Skool G Dot”

  1. Chester Says:

    I went looking for this book last summer – where did you find it?

  2. Geordie Says:

    I have a copy from the old days. You can get it from a bunch of different old book sellers, if you google the title you can find a bunch…

Leave a Reply

