5-2 at West Coast Submissions Championships

This is a little belated. I competed at an event on June 13th in Maple Ridge called the West Coast Submissions Championships in the heavyweight (200+)  category. It was round robin which was interesting, and you can only win by submission. There were 8 people in the division so I ended up having 7 fights. One of the differences between freestyle and these submission wrestling tournaments is that in freestyle they only do one round of your weight class at a time, then you get to rest for a bit while all the other weights do their round, then you go again, etc. Usually you have about 1 hour between matches. Not so with these tournaments. The whole 7 fights were within an hour. So here’s how it went.

First: Took the guy down with fireman’s, passed to side mount, arm triangled the guy for about 2 minutes and he wouldn’t tap, so I let it go and took the arm triangle on the other side, put him out cold. Guy wouldn’t tap. He was out for about 30 seconds. 1-0.

Note: after squeezing as hard as you can for 3+ minutes try flexing your arm.

Second: Took the guy down with a fireman’s, passed to side mount, guy turned into me, I wrapped his neck with my left arm and sunk the guillotine, guy taps. 2-0.

Third: Took the guy down with high crotch, passed to side mount, passed to full mount, went for keylock, guy turns to his side, went for armbar, slipped off, scrambled back to feet, took guy down with outside single, passed to side mount, arm triangle, guy taps. 3-0.

Fourth: Very tired. Stalled on my feet for about 2 minutes, then took the guy down with high crotch, passed to full mount, went for keylock, guy wouldn’t budge, did the Molson’s choke for a while, went for keylock, guy tured, went for armlock, guy taps. 4-0.

Fifth: Very tired again. Took the guy down with fireman’s, passed to side mount, arm triangle, guy taps. 5-0.

OK so far so good. Now they tell us that we’re going to leave the mat we were on to go into a boxing ring which is about 3 feet off the floor. So I’ve never competed in a ring with ropes before.

Six: Stalled on feet for about 2 minutes. Took the guy down with high crotch, passed to side mount. We scramble for a bit, guy takes full guard back, my feet get tangled in the ropes, referee brings us back to the center. Guy goes for a triangle, I go for the stack, guy’s back/legs are up against the ropes, guy locks in the triangle, I tap with about 20 seconds left. 5-1.

Seven: My last fight was against the guy who won the event named Dan Maciver. I’d seen some of his previous fights and he looked pretty good. I took him down right away with a high crotch and was trying to pass to side mount but buddy was trying to lock in a triangle at the same time. I pushed him into the ropes and the ref centered us. We scrambled around for a bit while I was trying to pass. He locked his legs in some kind of reverse triangle (both of us were facing the mat). I tried to pull out backwards but he started doing an armbar at the same time. I pushed forward to avoid the armbar and he flipped over and cinched the triangle. I tapped. 5-2.

The guy I fought last won the event, the guy I fought first (who I put out) ended up coming second on some tie-breaking thing.

So my record so far including the previous tournament: 7-3.

Leave a Reply

