Notes to training log

I am just coming off rehab of a knee injury (ACL + meniscus repair) and have been back at some light training since early January. I am working out at Universal MMA in downtown Vancouver. There are a couple lighter weight pro MMA fighters who train there. The biggest name who’s been through the club  is Denis Kang but I’ve never actually seen him, I believe he trains in Florida now.

I feel pretty good physically. No problem with the joints so far. It is a little frustrating as I can’t find 2nd gear, my conditioning is not good, I get submitted by guys who weigh 100 pounds less than I do and I weigh about 30 pounds more than I should but these are to be expected after a 2+ year layoff. I’m currently planning on doing NAGA and Grappler’s Quest tournaments in March which should be interesting. We’ll see how it goes.

Today I did six four minute sparring sessions with six different guys and got 1 kimura, 4 arm triangles and 1 north-south choke, and didn’t get submitted. I’m starting to get better at understanding how not to get caught in triangles and guillotines which are my bane so far. Need to work on opening up a closed guard and getting better at finishing the north-south.

Leave a Reply

