Awesome new music

From Zack de la Rocha and Jon Theodore. The band is called One Day As a Lion. I picked up their self-titled EP yesterday and it is awesome… as good or better than the best Rage Against the Machine. If you are a RATM fan you should definitely pick it up. I had it playing on loop today, 15 plays through so far.

The lyrical content is a lot like RATM, here is a sample:

I’m in with the spirit of Ali Toure // as I target more heads than a priest on Ash Wednesday

The more I listen to it the more I like it.

Also I picked up the new Metallica, Death Magnetic, with much trepidation. Like everyone else I grew up on “old Metallica” ie Kill em All, Ride the Lightning and Master of Puppets, after this it was hit and miss. I actually liked St. Anger which everyone else hated. And Justice for All was interesting but a little too prog for my tastes.

While it isn’t a classic or anything, Death Magnetic is a solid metal album. Good riffage and listenable. I think Metallica suffers a little from the fact that everyone always compares every album with the earlier ones, and pretty much anything sucks compared to those. I would recommend picking Death Magnetic up, it’s worth the ten bucks on itunes. It would be better if it was called Death Magnetic Flux Qubits.

3 Responses to “Awesome new music”

  1. physicsandcake Says:

    I haven’t heard Death Magnetic yet, I will have to pick up a copy. I wasn’t convinced by the previous album, but as you say…. you just can’t beat the classics 🙂

  2. Jeff Says:

    Yep. One Day as A Lion has been on my workout music list for a few weeks now. Raw and angry, just like the old RATM, but even more stripped down.

  3. tani Says:

    metallica is the best

Leave a Reply

