There’s something about Brody

Brody Dalle of the Distillers has the greatest voice in the history of music.

As increasing the intersection of quantum computing enthusiasts and punk & metal lovers can only increase the social good, I feel compelled to link to Brody.

994657_distillers_200×200.jpg

Here is the video of their first single off Sing Sing Death House.

12 Responses to “There’s something about Brody”

  1. Chris Says:

    Having seen her in concert once… I must admit, there is no doubt in my mind that she can kick my ass.

  2. mick Says:

    She was awesome once. I kinda got over the Distillers on the album after “Sing sing death house” (which is one of the best punk albums of the last 10 years, though I suspect Tim Armstrong and Lars Fredrikson may have had more than a little influence on it).

  3. Geordie Says:

    mick: yeah I agree. It’s a shame though, I think given different circumstances she could have been an all time great… probably still has a shot, but she would need some pretty big changes in the people around her I think.

    I was thinking up some wierd scenarios: check this out: How about Brody fronting Rage Against the Machine. Or a re-united Guns and Roses (minus Axel). Or…I almost can’t say it…Slayer. That would totally be the greatest thing ever produced by humanity.

  4. mick Says:

    She has a great voice no doubt about it. I dunno about the Guns and Roses thing though… Maybe she could front Rage Against the Machine but she hasn’t ever had that polital edge to her music. I’d like to see her rip out some ACDC, that’d be awesome.

  5. Chris Says:

    @mick

    “one of the best punk albums in the past ten years”. Not sure if I would agree with you there. There is alot of good stuff out there. I also personally thought Coral Fang rocked.

    But yeah, divorcing Tim/getting a new band after the success of Sing Sing… seems kind of a crap move. Though not being in the relationship, not sure I could really comment on the situation.

    As for other rocking female lead singers, I’ve really been liking the singer from Horrorpops (punkabilly) Patricia Day. Though her voice isn’t as edgy as Brodie. Also Agent M from Tsunami Bomb rocks pretty hard…. though I guess they broke up in 2005… I need to get caught up on my punk!

  6. mick Says:

    @Chris

    Meh, I should have said “arguably one of the best”, there is a hell of a lot of good stuff out there.

    I’m all about the Horrorpops as well by the way. I agree, Day doesn’t have the edgy voice of Brody but I think she has a hell of a lot of style.

    I won’t comment on the Brody-Armstrong split other than to say it seemed to screw with her music (I wasn’t a fan of Coral Fang). Who knows what the hell their relationship was really like.

  7. Matteo Martini Says:

    From the news..

    The city-state of Singapore a new threat for D-Wave?

    http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/273831/1/.html

    The technology for the world’s fastest computer may be invented in Singapore in the next 10 to 20 years.

    Basically, the author does not seem to know/believe about D-Wave!!

  8. Paul B. Says:

    Matteo: Funny you should mention Singapore, Paul Graham had to say this about it: “Singapore would face a similar problem. Singapore seems very aware of the importance of encouraging startups. But while energetic government intervention may be able to make a port run efficiently, it can’t coax startups into existence. A state that bans chewing gum has a long way to go before it could create a San Francisco” here

  9. Matteo Martini Says:

    Banning chewing gums is nothing at all..

    If they find you with a little bit or Maria Luana ( marijuana, for friends ), they hang you..

    http://web.amnesty.org/library/Index/ENGASA360042001?open&of=ENG-SGP

    http://stopthedrugwar.org/chronicle-old/347/singapore.shtml

    http://www.cannabisculture.com/backissues/jul96/ssbody.html

    http://www.handsoffcain.info/archivio_news/200505.php?iddocumento=7104340&mover=0

  10. Max Says:

    Hall of Mirrors….. my favourite… there’s no name strong enough to define how great they are……….

  11. tesco Says:

    Agreed, she is quite cool. I kinda gotta put Candace Kucsulain in as the best female vocals in the genre, though. Assuming you consider Metalcore Punk. If not, I may be so bold as to give it to Shannon from the Messengers.
    Cool site.

  12. guilingverity Says:

    Brody kicks ass and Coral Fang does too. It’s not anybody’s business what she does with her love life, and I think the music she’s made is awesome.

Leave a Reply

